top of page
  • Writer's pictureBethany Sweitzer

“Everything-Free” Pumpkin Pie

Updated: Feb 20, 2020


My husband calls this my “everything-free” pumpkin pie (as he does with a lot of my healthy cooking) because it is wheat-free, diary-free, and sugar-free, but it tastes like normal, delicious pumpkin pie! My husband will eat (and like) 99% of what I make, so he is really more of a taste-cheerleader than a taste-tester, so I brought it to my family for thanksgiving a couple of years ago, and didn’t tell them it was healthy or anything, and they ate it all immediately and loved it! So I took that as a sign that it wasn’t just me getting used to my own healthy cooking, but that there’s something about pies that taste delicious no matter what! I have healthy apple pie and berry pie recipes that I will share soon.

INGREDIENTS (for the crust)

1 ¼ cups Almond flour

6 tablespoons tapioca flour

1 egg

½ stick of butter, ghee, or oil (4 tablespoons)

Pinch of salt


CRUST INSTRUCTIONS:

Combine almond and tapioca flour and salt in a food processor. Pulse to combine. Add butter and pulse until it forms small crumbs. You may need to add a couple more tablespoons of flour to make the dough form into one big ball. Once the dough forms a ball, remove and place between two sheets of plastic wrap. Place in the fridge for 30 mins, or the freezer for 10. Remove and roll out between the plastic wrap. Fit to pan. Do not pre-bake this pie crust.

INGREDIENTS (for the filling)

2 cups 100% pure pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)

1/2 cup honey

4 egg whites, room temperature

1 ½ teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon fresh ground nutmeg or cloves

1 ½ cups almond milk


FILLING INSTRUCTIONS:

Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and mix thoroughly. Pour mixture into pie crust. Bake at 425 degrees F. for 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees F. and bake for an additional 45-50 minutes. Let it cool completely before cutting and serving.

FOR THE WHIPPED TOPPING:

I use full fat coconut milk to make my whipped cream. To see the method I use, check out this video.

Notes:

I usually use pure maple syrup instead of honey.


If you open the coconut can upside down, you can easily drain the liquid you don't want to use.









16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page